is possible that your vehicle could be covered under a state lemon
law if you purchase a used vehicle. This is because used cars may
still be under the age or mileage threshold to qualify as defective
under such a law. If your vehicle is defective, it is up to the
manufacturer to either refund your money or replace the car.
Do Lemon Laws Apply to Used Cars?
lemon law used car
applies to vehicles purchased at a dealership for more than $700 and
that have less than 125,000 miles on the odometer. If you buy a used
car in Massachusetts from a private party, it may be possible to
return a vehicle after 30 days. However, this is only true if the
private seller knew about a defect and failed to disclose it. It is
important to note that a private seller does not need to fix the
defect. Instead, he or she is responsible for refunding the purchase
price and taking the car back.
Lemon Law Doesn’t Apply to Leases
Massachusetts lemon law used car does not apply to vehicles that were
leased. Of course, this doesn’t mean that you don’t have any recourse
at all. In many cases, a defective leased vehicle will be taken back
by the leasing company. It is also possible that a dealer will make
as many attempts as necessary to resolve any problem that you have.
However, if a good faith effort to fix a defective vehicle does not
resolve the matter, it may not be a bad idea to contact an attorney.
Legal counsel may be able to inform you of your rights under the law
as they apply in your case.
YourLemonLawRights.com today can help you learn more about how the
& Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center
can help protect your rights in a lemon law case.
1 person likes this post.